McKinney-Vento Program (Title X: Homeless Education)

Contact

541-461-8255
titlex@lesd.k12.or.us

The McKinney-Vento Act is a federal law guaranteeing all children and youth the right to an equal education, regardless of their living situation. Protection under the McKinney-Vento Act extends to those who lack a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence.

Those covered by the law have the right to:

  • Expedited enrollment in the appropriate school
  • Receive free/reduced lunch
  • Attend their school of origin (including the necessary transportation)
  • Receive support from their district's McKinney-Vento Liaison

The following resources are meant to assist districts in maintaining a quality Title X Program which includes: sensitive and thorough identification strategies, regular staff-trainings, inter-agency collaboration, and community-wide awareness of the issues facing homeless children and youth.

McKinney-Vento District Contacts

District Liaison or
School Contact
E-mail Phone
Bethel Donna Butera donna.butera@bethel.k12.or.us 541-461-6424
Ext. 2543
Blachly Linda Richardson lrichardson@blachly.k12.or.us 541-925-3262
Ext. 102
C-A-L Kim Wilson kwilson@cal.k12.or.us 541-935-2227
Cottage Grove Brandi Baker-Rudicel bbpartners@qwestoffice.net 541-942-2104
Creswell Kim Jordan kjordan@creswell.k12.or.us 541-895-6107
Eugene Deborah Dailey dailey@4j.lane.edu 541-790-7220
Fern Ridge Jackie Turle jturle@fernridge.k12.or.us 541-935-8214
Junction City Katie Bradford kbradford@junctioncity.k12.or.us 541-998-6311
Ext. 621
Lowell Kandayce Day kday@lowell.k12.or.us 541-937-2105
Mapleton Brenda Moyer bmoyer@mapleton.k12.or.us 541-268-4322
Marcola Judy Hockett jhockett@marcola.k12.or.us 541-933-2411
Ext. 1202
McKenzie Lacey Joy ljoy@mckenzie.k12.or.us 541-822-1110
Oakridge Vicki Bates vbates@oakridge.k12.or.us 541-782-3226
Pleasant Hill Devery Stoneberg dstoneberg@pleasanthill.k12.or.us 541-736-0400
Siuslaw Ethel Angal eangal@siuslaw.k12.or.us 541-997-5456
Springfield Janet Beckman janet.beckman@springfield.k12.or.us 541-744-2581

Staff Training

  • Title X Staff Training (PPT)
    This ten to fifteen minute presentation highlights the basics of the McKinney-Vento Act and provides information on what staff members can do to help their students. Ideal for annual staff presentations.
  • Title X Fact Sheet Training Handout (DOC)
    This handout provides basic information on the McKinney-Vento Act, and can be modified for individual districts. An excellent supplement to the staff training.
  • Homeless With Homework Staff Training
    This 15 minute, individual web-based training gives staff a basic overview of McKinney-Vento law and best practices. The presentation ends with a short quiz, and gives each participant a certificate to verify their completion of the training. This is an excellent tool for self-paced, mandatory staff McKinney-Vento trainings.

Resources

  • OEA Foundation Grant
    The above link leads to the OEA Foundation Grant. Any OEA member can complete this brief form to receive $100 toward a student's clothing, school supplies, or other material needs. Although each student may only receive one award per year, each OEA member may submit multiple grants.
  • 211info.org
    211info.org is an excellent resource for finding medical help, counseling, shelters, food box sites, social services, and other providers in Lane County and across the country.
  • Holiday Gift Programs (PDF)
    This list cites donation centers and meal programs for winter holiday giving in Lane County.

Outreach

These flyers can be used to assist the district liaison with the mandatory community outreach component of the McKinney-Vento law. Flyers can be personalized with a simple, 1" x 2 5/8" address label to include the name and contact information of the McKinney-Vento Liaison. All files are in PDF format.

Plain Flyer
Plain Flyer
Living in the Shadows
Living in the Shadows
Homelessness Awareness
Homelessness Awareness
Attention Parents!
Attention Parents!
Little Atlas
Little Atlas

McKinney-Vento Consortium Brochure
McKinney-Vento Brochure (PDF)
This general, informational brochure can be handed out in parent packets, displayed at schools, or given to community agencies.

Reporting

  • Title X Data Tracking Spreadsheet (XLS)
    This spreadsheet may be used for basic tracking of Title X students for the purposes of identification end-of-the-year subgrant reporting.

Troubleshooting

  • Determining Eligibility (PDF)
    This brief from the National Center for Homeless Education is an excellent guide for making a sensitive and thorough determination of McKinney-Vento eligibility.
  • How to Calculate Title I Set Asides (PDF)
    This brief guide shares several options a district may use to calculate their Title I Set Aside amounts for McKinney-Vento programs.
  • Allowable Set Aside Expenses
    This simple list explains what set aside money may be used for in the context of a McKinney-Vento program.
  • McKinney-Vento and Special Education (DOC)
    This brief explains how McKinney-Vento and Special Education laws intersect.
  • McKinney-Vento and Foster Care (PDF)
    This brief details how children and youth in foster care may or may not meet the criteria for McKinney-Vento eligibility, and how schools and DHS can work together to best serve these students.
Please direct comments about our website to webmaster@lesd.k12.or.us. © Lane Education Service District.